Posted by: Katie Cottle | March 4, 2011

A beautiful prayer

This was part of my devotional this morning.  Chad and I are doing Charles Spurgeon’s Morning and Evening this year.  We do the morning part on our own and then the evening together before bed.

It was so perfect for me, that I thought it might be for you too–

“Lord, help me to glorify thee; I am poor; help me to glorify thee by contentment; I am sick; help me to give thee honour by patience; I have talents; help me to extol thee by spending them for thee; I have time; Lord, help me to redeem it, that I may serve thee; I have a heart to feel; Lord, let that heart feel no love but thine, and glow with no flame but affection for thee; I have a head to think; Lord, help me to think of thee and for thee; thou hast put me in this world for something; Lord, show me what that is, and help me to work out my life-purpose: I cannot do much; but as the widow put in her two mites, which were all her living, so, Lord, I cast my time and eternity too into thy treasury; I am all thine; take me, and enable me to glorify thee now, in all that I say, in all that I do, and with all that I have.”

AMEN

 

AND Another — this is the prayer Andy Stanley and his wife pray every morning,

“Lord, Father, help us see trouble coming long before it gets here, and give us the wisdom to know what to do and give us the the courage to do it.”

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

