Posted by: Katie Cottle | January 14, 2010

Christmas Eve

It may be Easter before I finish sharing Christmas pictures!

This was our First Christmas Eve since we have been married, where Chad didn’t have to work the Christmas Eve Service.  We took advantage of some leftover vacation days and extended our stay in Tifton.

For the first time in 24 years, Chad was able to spend Christmas with his extended family.  It is a long story, but it ends in Reconcilliation and a Huge Blessing from Above.

 

Chad’s First Cousin Neilie and her mama (Papa’s TWIN) and her adorable Cullen!  I just love him.  My MIL says he looks just like Chad did his first Christmas.  Don’t you just love genetics???

 

Meeting and Greeting

Charlie just made himself at home and became BFF with EVERYONE!  Hysterical – he has never met a stranger!!

Our family of FOUR! 

Charlie loves Uncle Corey and Hot Rikki!  What is not to love??? 

The Grab Game

This is one of Chad’s favorite memories from growing up.  It started with his Papa, who saved his change all year and would toss it out Christmas Eve for all the kiddos to dive for.  Now, all the “kids” brought change for the kiddos to dive for.  They divided the kids into 3 age groups.  Charlie (and MK, for that matter) was in the youngest group.  Here are a few shots:

Here is Uncle Tommy giving a tutorial–

Between the 2 rounds, Charlie got close to 20.00!  That will buy you a LOT at the Dollar Store!

AND THE GUEST of HONOR

Santa

Here is Santa getting ready to hand out presents.  (This was too cute.  Each parent/grandparent brings a wrapped gift for their children and put them in an outside closet and then Santa picks the bag up on his way in!)

Charlie really took to Chad’s Aunt! He just snuggled up like they were big buddies.  Warmed all our hearts!

Molly Kate loved SANTA!  My only concern was that she was going to pull his beard off.  She had a tight hold!!!  It might have been our FIRST and LAST invite!

Oh, how I love my Firstborn!!!

My inLaws who ROCK!!!  They are the best and I know this because my friends all tell me this ALL the time!  Can you tell how tired MK is??

Molly Kate and Uncle Corey

The 2 Charlie Cottles!  Seriously, how funny is that??  Sorry Dusty and Michelle!!!

We were planning on being on the road by 8 so we could be at my parents by 11, but it was after 9.  We made great time and made it a little after Midnight!

Here is a picture of my babies (and this is how they ride EVERYDAY!!)

Just a holding HANDS!  even in their sleep!!!

 

Responses

  1. I’m at a loss for words, there’s nothing to say
    I sit in silence wondering what led me to this place
    How did my heart become so lifeless and cold
    Where did the passion go?

    When all my efforts seem like chasing wind
    I’ve used up all my strength and there’s nothing left to give
    I’ve lost the feeling and I’m down to the core
    I can’t fake it anymore.

    chorus:
    Here I am at the end I’m in need of resurrection
    Only You can take this empty shell and raise it from the dead
    What I’ve lost to the world what seems far beyond redemption
    You can take the pieces in Your hand and make me whole again, again

    You speak and all creation falls to its knees
    You raise Your hand and calm the waves of the raging sea
    You have a way of turning winter to spring
    Make something beautiful out of all this suffering

    Everytime I think about Christmas Eve, the words to this Nicole Sponberg song come to my mind, especially the part about “make something beautiful out of all this suffering…”

    You have a way of turning winter to spring
    Make something beautiful out of all this suffering

  2. I love the picture of your babies holding hands. You have two sweet loving children.


Leave a Reply

Categories

