Posted by: Katie Cottle | August 26, 2009

A Homeschool Family

Our family began our journey into Homeschooling today!  We are not this weird family —

We are just trying to do what is best for our family for this season of our life!

Anyways, Tuesday was Charlie’s first day of School.  His Daddy took him for a special breakfast at McDonalds.  When he got home, Molly Kate was down for a nap and we got started learning together. 

We are using a fabulous curriculum this year.  It is called ABC Jesus Loves Me!  They have a plan for both 3 and 4 year olds.  It is a great starting point for our family and super easy.   I have a tendency to make things harder than they are and I think this will help me!  I love how it ties the Bible in to each lesson.  This week Charlie is learning the numerals 1 and 2 and the colors black, white, and blue.  The Bible Lesson is Creation:  Days 1 and 2 and the verse is Genesis 1:1.  See the connection 🙂 

I love the fact that the majority of my focus is on Charlie’s spiritual development.  So much time as parents we stress about what our children are learning and completely neglect the instruction of Proverbs 22:6  (Train a child in the way he should go,  and when he is old he will not turn from it.)  So if we want our children to be filled with Christ and His calling, we need to dedicate the time towards that goal FIRST!!!  My secondary goal with teaching is to instill a love of learning.  I am not as concerned at the age of 3 with what Charlie can do or learn, but more that he is inquisitive and interested in how this world works. 

This is an experiment and I’ll keep y’all posted on how it goes!!!

Here is a cute picture of Charlie sorting while MK watched.  I was so proud of him.  When he was cleaning up after our Candyland game, he sorted the cards by color — Way to go!!!

First Day of 3K 025

(she looks like she totally gets it, doesn’t she???)

Responses

  1. I laughed hysterically at the video! Too funny. You defintely are NOT that family and if start getting that way we promise to warn you! 🙂 You will be a fabulous homeschooling momma! Love ya

  2. I am loving that MK is also learning her sorting skills. She can sort her diapers~which ones are dirty and which ones are clean!!!!

  3. Charlie is so lucky to have you as his Mommy!

  4. I’m planning to homeschool too! I just can’t send my child to another teacher when I can do it myself! Definitely keep me posted on how it is going. : )


Leave a Reply

Categories

