Posted by: Katie Cottle | July 18, 2008

Balance

“Rejoice with those who rejoice; mourn with those who mourn.”  Romans 12:15

In one of my recent “hard to sleep” nights I was reading and trying to sort out the past week, when I read this verse and I have been thinking it over since then.  How do you balance the two?  How do you go on with your life when friends/family/even strangers world’s just got turned upside down?  How do you pray for hurting people without your own heart hurting?  How are you happy for one friend and heart broken for another?  Or is this what we are suppose to feel?  Is this what loving people feels like? 

Chad has put me on “computer restriction” before because he felt like I couldn’t take anymore heartbreak.  I think he thinks that every time I get on the computer I cry (just about true).  The computer brings so many hurting people into my living room.  I feel like if they can live it – I can pray for them and hurt along with them.   Isn’t that what we are called to do?   But I have got to find a way to do it where I can handle it a little better (for my family’s sake at least).   I have always been so tenderhearted – just ask my family.  You could count on me to cry about everything.   I thought I would have outgrown it by now!!!

My heart is breaking for Frank and Sarah and their families. I can’t seem to get it out of my mind.  I have talked with many of you and you feel the same way.   Please continue to remember this precious family in your prayers. 

The Lord is close to the brokenhearted and saves those who are crushed in spirit.  Psalm 34:18

My New Favorite Song – Such a good reminder of God’s love for us!

Responses

  1. You are the epitome of balance to me. If I had a nickel for every time I’ve told Garrett “I wish I could be more like Katie”… Your tender-hearted spirit is what draws people to you, and one of the ways Jesus shines through you. Thank you for your ministry. Yes, Chad is a minister by trade and by calling, but you are a minister in your own right, too. You follow the Call on your life and listen to the Voice as it speaks, which should be a lesson to us all. If nothing else, the past weeks/months of heartache I’ve felt for everyone around me that has hurt has shown me how very blessed I am to have my husband and my beautiful little girl. Not that I really felt like I took them for granted, but I’ve learned to think twice about grumbling when I hear “one more time bubbles, please?” So, with a full heart, I trudge back outside for the 15th time that night to blow bubbles, and count my blessings that I’m able to do so.

    I don’t know Frank and Sarah personally, but I’m fully convinced that they will, in time, learn to cope with the hurt and emptiness, all while learning to feel the warmth and fullness that Holden and Caroline will continue to bring them.

    In all things, Lord be glorified!

    Loving on you and loving your heart,
    Mary Beth

  2. Just wanted to let you know I prayed for the family and their lost little one. That’s such a terrible tragedy. It definately makes you see things in a new light.

  3. Jerah sings this song at our church, brings me to tears everytime.

    Continuing to pray for Frank and Sarah…

  4. I love that song. Oh how He loves us is exactly right. Kate…I’m so glad you’re my friend. I know God put you in my life to be my minister’s wife buddy and support person. You are so precious…look at your blog and see how many people love you and support you. It’s okay to cry. I cry for you too. God has a plan. A big one. And it’s going to be great. Can’t WAIT for the reunion.
    Much love…and praying for Frank and Sarah


Leave a Reply

Categories

