Posted by: Katie Cottle | March 20, 2008

Bummer

My back is really getting me down this week.  Like my daddy says, “It ain’t easy getting old” and not to point fingers, but I believe I get my fickle back from my dad and granddadd before him.  A quick “get you up to date” from the past few years –

A couple of months after Chad and I got married, I herniated a disc in my back from moving wedding gifts.  I was out of work for a while and unable to even walk for part of that time.  God provided for us and I was able to avoid surgery and did DTS three times a week for months.  I was able to resume normal activities and went overall trouble free (even through my pregnancy with Charlie) for a couple of years.  I have since then had 3  or 4 Episodes of pain and overall disability.  Last winter, Chad came home from church and found me on the floor of the kitchen.  I had  gone to get a pan out from underneath the oven and my back “gave out” and there I laid until he came home:) 

This is the worst it has been since the initial injury.  It is easy to get discouraged, because I want to be taking care of my family, getting ready for Charlie’s Birthday Party and Easter.  However, I am trying to focus on the positive and all I have to be thankful for.  I am thankful to a wonderful chiropractor and therapists who are working to “straighten” me out.  I am thankful for a husband who didn’t get home until 11 last night, but cleaned up the dinner dishes, did laundry, and straightened up Charlie’s toys without any complaining (and came bearing a gift and card).  I am thankful for a friend who watched Charlie so I could go to the Dr without him.  I am thankful to another friend who called and said she was coming over tonight to bathe Charlie and for me to have a list ready for her. I am thankful for my mama who volunteered to come get Charlie.  I am thankful for God and His presence.  I am thankful that my family is healthy.  I choose JOY!         Remind me of what I just said if I start to get down . . . . 

Praying for a quick recovery and a return to good health!  

Responses

  1. Hang in there, Baby Girl. You are going to be 100 percent before you know it. Praying for you!!
    Mom

  2. Amen sister! I love the last sentence. I will be praying for a quick recovery for you. What a “pain”…
    ps. love, love, love your blog!


Leave a Reply

Categories

