Posted by: Katie Cottle | February 25, 2008

Save a Penny, Earn a Penny

I work really hard to be friendly to cashiers, because I know no one is making money off my purchases.  I have always been one for a good bargain, but in the last 6 months or so I have taken on “couponing” and it has been so fun for me.  I know I am a dork, but I get such a rush when I save money.  I always explain to cashiers that I am a SAHM and I consider it my job to save our family money.  I feel like if I save a dollar, I just earned a dollar for the family!

Yesterday – I left Charlie Bell with Chad and went to 3 grocery stores and 2 pharmacies.  I’ll pass on a few of the best deals I got – so maybe you can check them out too!

1.  PublixMotts for Tots – juice boxes – BOGO (I love these because they are already watered down and are ready to go – perfect for the diaper bag), Dole Fruit Bowls BOGO, plus 50cents off 2 (which Publix doubles) – so I got each 4 pack for about a 75cents (you can’t get the store brand for that), Dole Parfait Bowls BOGO, plus I had 2 75cents off coupons, so I got each 4 pack for 50 cents a piece (Chad and Charlie like these), Maybelline Lipstick 50% off – Plus I had a 2.00 off coupon – so I got my fave lipstick for 1.50! 

2. KrogerSoftsoap – On sale for 1.00 each  (normally 1.59), 35 cent coupon (doubled to 70 cents) – so I paid 30 cents for my soap – (I had several coupons – so I did it for as many as I had). . . to think I use to buy the refill walmart brand and fill the bottles up to save money!

3.  Walgreens:  The March Rebate program started this weekend.  I always try to take advantage of the Walgreens Rebates.  If you put your rebate money on a gift card -then you get 10%, plus you can use it to buy the next months’ rebates and you don’t have to dip into your funds (which is great because I have over 50 dollars out in rebates)!  This month – Garnier Fructis Hair Stylers (Chad loves the Bold It Endurance Gel) (plus I had a dollar off) FREE, Colgate Total Advanced Toothpaste – FREE, Thera Dent Oral Rinse  -FREE (Chad has super sensitive teeth – so we thought he could try it – the price is right), Listerine Smart Rinse – FREE (after Mar 9th), Garnier Nutritioniste Skin Renew – FREE, Nature Made Softgels (vitamins) – FREE!!! 

images.jpg

Just thought I would share a few details that might help your family out!  I will post more on couponing  inthe future . . .

Leave a Reply

Categories

